A check or money order for your fee must be
attached to your application. The Wisconsin license fee is currently $100.
If currently student or intern teaching and
applying for a first license, the earliest we would accept applications is
January 9 for fall semester, and June 1 for spring semester. All other license
applications are processed as they are received.
What is a Notary Public, and do I need to have my license application
By state law, the Wisconsin Conduct and Competency
Review form must be signed in the presence of a Notary Public. Most banks and
school district main offices have notaries. You must show a Notary Public two
forms of identification, one with a picture. The Office of Field Experiences has
a Notary Public on staff, Erin Blicharz, but we ask that teachers call the
office to make sure she is available.
What are fingerprint cards and how do I get them?
By state law, some applicants for Wisconsin and
other states’ teacher licenses must submit approved fingerprint cards, which can
be ordered online at http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/licensing.html.
They are also available at Campus Security from
8:00 – 12:00 noon, Monday through Friday.
What is Institutional Endorsement?
Most applications for teacher licenses require the
signature of an approved Certifying Officer. On Wisconsin Form DPI-1602 IS,
section IV must be completed by UWSP staff, who verify information, endorse the
application, and forward them directly to licensing agencies, which typically
takes three to four weeks in our office.
How long will it take to process my teacher license
For first time licensing, our office must wait for
all student teaching grades, degrees and appropriate majors/minors to be posted.
Once that is completed, we will then verify that all requirements have been met,
sign the license application, and mail your original application to a licensing
agency. If a self-addressed, stamped envelope (legal size is fine) is provided, a signed copy will
also be sent to the applicant. It takes 14 -16 weeks for licensing agencies to
return your official license. It takes 2-4 weeks from date of receipt
and posting of grades and degree for us to process and
forward licenses to the state DPI office.
Can I get a temporary license?
We recommend that you request a copy of your
endorsed application for your records and for your job search. Include a
self-addressed stamped envelope (SASE) or a fax number for your copy.
If you accept a job immediately, some school districts will accept a copy of
your endorsed application. For those districts that don’t, you can request a
Verification of Program Completion form. Please include a
SASE. (Only one SASE is needed if you are requesting both forms to be sent to the same address.)
What can I do to expedite my license due to a job or sub position
starting right away?
We recommend that you submit your license
application into the office within the first week we accept them and include a
post-it note with the application stating both your last day of
student teaching and your first day of working (long-term sub or full-time job
only!) and a self-addressed, stamped envelope. You may request us to fax a
copy of the signed application by including a note that you would like it faxed
and the fax number and name of the person who will be receiving the fax.
Reminder: Before we can sign a license, we must wait until your school
district’s quarter is over and your grades and degree are posted. NOTE:
You cannot start to substitute teach or start a job until the last quarter of
your student teaching is completed.
What is a license renewal?
Teachers with licenses (e.g., elementary) to which
they are not adding new endorsements (e.g., reading teacher) can obtain renewal
forms from licensing agencies and send them directly back along with their grade
reports, transcripts, professional development plans or other documents. The
UWSP Certification Office will gladly assist any teacher with questions about
Is there a Teacher Licensure Checklist?
- Read the UWSP
Handbook for Student/Intern Teaching
- Obtain and complete application(s) for each state
- Complete Conduct & Competency Form, with notarized signature
- Attach check or money order for fee(s)
- Attach SASE or FAX number for copy of endorsed application
- Attach fingerprint card(s)*
- Submit all the above to:
Office of Field Experiences