The department typically gives nearly $10,000 worth of scholarships and awards during the school year. A partial list of those scholarships and awards are listed below. The number of awards in each category vary from year to year.


Arts Bash Awards

Awarded to students in the Department of Art & Design who demonstrate excellence in art.

Arts Bash B.F.A. Portfolio Award For Excellence

Awarded to students participating in the BFA Portfolio Review, who demonstrate an excellence in art.

COFAC Dedication Scholarship 

Awarded to students in each of the departments within the College of Fine Arts & Communication, these annual awards are made possible by the endowment created during the "Name Your Seat" campaign. Seats located within Michelsen Hall and Jenkins Theatre were dedicated by donors with the purpose of providing scholarship opportunities for all COFAC students.

Dan Favor Memorial Unconventional Art Scholarship

Open to an unconventional art student who approaches art in a unique or unconventional way, in the spirit of Dan Favor.

David L. Smith Award For Art Excellence

Awarded to a UWSP student who has demonstrated excellence in art or design.

Department of Art & Design Leadership & Service Award

Awarded to students in the Department of Art & Design who demonstrate leadership in the department, college, university and community.

Elizabeth Weber Rice Memorial Art Scholarship

Awarded to an upper class student in the Department of Art & Design, in honor of Elizabeth Weber Rice

Festival of the Arts Scholarship

Awarded to a continuing student with a concentration in studio art.

James Pierson Memorial Photography Award

Awarded to a fulltime undergraduate student in good standing, for excellence in photography.

James R. Hill Award For Excellence In Drawing

Awarded to an art student in the Department of Art & Design who demonstrates excellence in drawing.

Nancy J. Sanford Memorial Art Award

Awarded to a student in he Department of Art & Design who demonstrates excellence in painting.

Okray Family Fund for the Visual Arts

Awarded to a student for excellence in art.

Piotrowski Ceramics Awards

Awarded for excellence in the field of ceramics.

Sentry Insurance Scholarship

Award given for art excellence