Skip to main content
School of Education

School of Education Elementary and Middle School K-9 Add-On Certification

Graduate Teaching Certification

Earn your K-9-2088 Add-on License

This newly approved license at UW-Stevens Point allows a teacher to teach 4-year old kindergarten through 9th grade. This program is only available for teachers already licensed to teach MC-EA ages 6-13 “Regular Education,” EC-MC ages 0-11 “Regular Education,” or grades 1-6, 1-8, K-6 or K-8. 

Program Benefits  

  • gain additional certification  
  • expert faculty and staff 
  • collaborate with other teachers 
Ed.D. in Educational Sustainability

Why choose the Elementary and Middle School K-9 Add-On program at UW-Stevens Point?

At UW-Stevens Point, we have online, interactive classes that will provide opportunities for you to examine and enrich your personal and professional goals. The number of credits required for this add-on llicensure/certification program is dependent on each participant’s educational and professional background. We will work with you to review your transcripts and determine each participant’s unique course requirements.
School of Education
School of Education

In the News and Social Media

Catch up on the latest news from the School of Ed programs and get an insight from our students in their blogs.
previous slide
next slide

Add-on Program

By the Numbers

3-9
Credits
100Percent
Online
US Dollars450
Per Credit + Fees

Courses and Requirements

For most teachers, this new license may require 3-9 credits of graduate level coursework, offered online, depending on coursework completed for initial license.

  • Appropriate pre-clinical or K-9 experiences. When submitting an application to this program, make sure to also upload a list of pre-clinical experiences and teaching experiences along with a copy of your current license. Please include all of the following information for every experience: 
    • school setting (elementary school building, middle school building, junior high, or high school) 
    • approximate number of hours 
    • approximate year 
  • Foundations of Reading Test for Wisconsin (FoRT): Required by state law for licensure: Passing score of 240 or higher on the Foundations of Reading Test for Wisconsin. For more information on score requirements, test preparation and registration, please see our FoRT website. 
  • NOTE: FoRT is not required for those who have a Wisconsin lifetime license at the time they complete and apply for this new K-9 license. 
  • Content Knowledge Requirement: Demonstrate content knowledge by either 1) obtaining a 3.00 or higher in the teaching major or 2) submit passing scores on the required Praxis Subject Assessment exam: Middle School: Content Knowledge #5146 with a score of 146 or higher. Students must meet one of the content knowledge requirements for teacher licensure. For information on Praxis Exam, please see pages 9-10 in the School of Education Advising Guide. 

How much will it cost?

State Teacher College Rock at Old Main

Tuition and Costs

We recognize that cost is essential when determining which program is best for you. Tuition, segregated fees, and a distance education fee combine to determine the program’s total cost, and each item is priced on a per-credit basis. There is an additional $25 administrative fee per semester of enrollment. For questions about tuition or more information, please reach out to Student Financial Services. Students enrolled in an add-on licensure program are considered non-degree seeking and will not be eligible for financial aid. If students combine their add-on licensure with the master’s in education degree, they are degree-seeking and are eligible for financial aid.

Are you Ready to Apply?

Apply to the program and receive a personal certification outline of requirements you will need to meet in order to add this new license.

Apply to the program and receive a personal certification outline of requirements you will need to meet to add this new license. Send all the following in one email or one packet of materials to:

Maggie Beeber
mbeeber@uwsp.edu
School of Education
College of Professional Studies
UW-Stevens Point
Stevens Point, WI 54481

  • A letter of intent expressing your interest in the new K-9 Elementary and Middle School License add-on.
  • Separate copies of unofficial transcripts from EVERY college or tech where you have earned credit
    • NOTE: If you earned your elementary education major/license through UW-Stevens Point, you only need to tell Maggie this information and include your UWSP ID# (not SS#). If you do not know your UWSP ID#, please call the Office of the Registrar, 715-346-4301, and they can assist you.
  • A copy of your current WI teaching license – You can find this on DPI’s website under License Look-Up and save as a .pdf.
    • NOTE: If you have a license with stipulations, please include the DPI list of stipulations you still need to meet.
  • Criminal Background Check: A criminal background check is required to apply to any licensing program in Wisconsin, per DPI code PI34.18(2)
    • DIRECTIONS: Request, print and upload a Wisconsin Department of Justice (Wisconsin DOJ) background check when you apply to a program: https://recordcheck.doj.wi.gov. We will accept a previous check that is no older than 6 months from the date you turn in your application. There is a $7 fee associated with this and this will allow you to see your results on their website. Save it as a .pdf to send to Maggie. The online $7 option is the quickest option. Download directions
  • A list of pre-clinical experiences and teaching experiences along with a copy of your current license. Please include all of the following information for every experience:
    • school setting (early childhood center, elementary school building, middle school building, junior high, or high school)
    • approximate number of hours of experience
    • approximate year of experience
Master's in Education

Add a Master’s in Education

Are you interested in earning your Master’s in Education? Why not use the credits from this add-on licensure/certification to count towards your degree? The M.S. in Education degree requires 30 graduate credits, and these courses can be used to count towards your degree. Learn more about our master’s degree and how you can earn both a degree and an add-on licensure/certification at the same time.

Meet your Faculty and Staff

Our instructors consistently achieve exemplary ratings and strive to utilize innovative instructional strategies in an online environment. We are available to assist our students and care deeply about their needs.
Sydney Bueno

Sydney Bueno

  • Assistant Professor – Special Education
  • Director – School of Education Graduate Programs
  • Liaison – Project Search
  • College of Professional Studies Diversity Task Force
715-346-2354
Nikki Logan

Nikki Logan

  • Associate Professor – Education
  • Coordinator – Special Education
715-346-2040
Emily Wahlquist

Emily Wahlquist

  • Administrative Program Specialist – School of Education
  • Graduate Student Success Coordinator
  • Harju Center Program Coordinator
  • Youth Programs and Outreach Coordinator
715-346-2524
Rayvn Knipple

Rayvn Knipple

  • Graduate Programs Assistant – School of Education
  • CPS University Staff Common Council Representative
715 346-2048

Accreditation

DPI Logo

DPI Accreditation

UW-Stevens Point’s teacher education programs are accredited by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

The United States Department of Education requires institutions that provide distance education to disclose information for programs leading to professional certification or licensure about whether each program meets state educational requirements for initial licensure or certification. Following is this disclosure information for this program:

  • The requirements of this program meet Certification/Licensure in the following states: Wisconsin
  • The requirements of this program do not meet Certification/Licensure in the following states: Not applicable
  • The requirements of this program have not been determined if they meet Certification/Licensure in the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming; District of Columbia; American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands