Graduate Program Faculty

Anderson-McIntyre, Laura
Forestry

Planning and management of outdoor recreation in forests, parks, and protected areas; nature-based tourism.

715-346-4182
laura.anderson@uwsp.edu

Bell, Robert
Biology
Algal and Plant Physiological and Community Ecology; Ultrastructural Phylogeny of the Algae. 715-346-2074
robert.bell@uwsp.edu
Brand, Jen
Hydrological modeling; climate change impacts on water quantity and quality; hazard susceptibility and risk; big data, machine learning, and interactive data visualization.
715-346-3190
Caporale, Diane
Biology
Molecular epidemiology and evolution of tick-borne pathogens.
715-346-3922
diane.caporale@uwsp.edu
Clancy, Katherine
Water/Fisheries
Fluvial geomorphology, prediction and modeling of floods and modeling watershed processes. 715-346-3429
katherine.clancy@uwsp.edu
Cook, James
Forestry
Disturbance regimes, regeneration, pollination ecology, succession, community response to disturbance. 715-346-2269
james.cook@uwsp.edu
Demchik, Michael
Forestry
Biomass, Farm forestry, alt. silvicultural systems, extending pathological rotation, underutilized species for disturbed site re-vegetation. 715-346-3214
michael.demchik@uwsp.edu
Doruska, Paul
Forestry
Forest inventory techniques, weight scaling, biomass equations, and proximal sensing of ground flora. 715-346-3988
paul.doruska@uwsp.edu
Dubay, Shelli
Wildlife
Epizoology of wildlife diseases, nutritional ecology, small mammals. 715-346-4178
shelli.dubay@uwsp.edu
Franzen, Rebecca
Natural Resources
Environmental education, teacher education and environmental education, environmental literacy assessment.
715-346-4943 becca.franzen@uwsp.edu
Gautam, Shuva
Forestry
Forest operations, wood procurement planning, forest products supply chain modeling, logging cost analysis, biomass harvesting.
715-346-3144
shuva.gautam@uwsp.edu 
Haines, Anna
Natural Resources
Collaborative planning, workforce development, Native American/ Indigenous environmental planning. 715-346-2386
anna.haines@uwsp.edu
Hartleb, Chris
Biology
Fisheries ecology, aquatic ecology, and aquaculture. 715-346-3228
chris.hartleb@uwsp.edu
Hauer, Richard
Forestry
Urban forestry at local, state & national levels, urban forest inventory & assessment; tree biology(selection growth & development of trees in urban environments. 715-346-3642
richard.hauer@uwsp.edu
Herrman, Kyle
Water/Fisheries
Aquatic biogeochemistry, nutrient transport and removal in streams and wetlands, ecosystem impacts of invasive species, and carbon storage in wetlands. 715-346-4832
kyle.herrman@uwsp.edu
Huspeni, Todd
Biology
General and applied parasite ecology. 715-346-4250
todd.huspeni@uwsp.edu
Hygnstrom, Scott
Wildlife
Wildlife ecology, wildlife damage management, wildlife diseases, and outdoor skills.

715-346-2301
scott.hygnstrom@uwsp.edu

Isermann, Dan
Water/Fisheries
Fisheries management, population dynamics and life history. 715-295-8878
dan.isermann@uwsp.edu

Kar, Shiba
Natural Resources

Socioeconomic and regulatory incentives for sustainable energy; renewable/alternative energy technologies, options, and land use impacts; climate change and community based adaptation strategies.

715-346-2359
shiba.kar@uwsp.edu
Keymer, Daniel
Soil and Waste

Microbial population structure and plant-microbe interactions.

715-346-2616
daniel.keymer@uwsp.edu

Lackey, Brenda
Natural Resources
Environmental Interpretation and Communication, program evaluation, visitor studies, human/wildlife conflicts. 715-346-2076
brenda.lackey@uwsp.edu
Larson, Wes
Water/Fisheries
Conservation genetics, evolution, molecular ecology, fisheries management, computer programming, data analysis715-346-3150
wes.larson@uwsp.edu
Liddicoat, Kendra
Natural Resources
Environmental education, camp management, program evaluation, and inclusion of people with disabilities in outdoor settings. 715-346-2028 kendra.liddicoat@uwsp.edu
McGinley, Paul
Water/Fisheries
Water Resources. 715-346-4501
paul.mcginley@uwsp.edu
Michitsch, Rob
Soil and Waste
Waste re-use, carcass disposal, contaminant transport, zoonotic and prion fate in complex matrices. 715-346-4190
robert.michitsch@uwsp.edu
Petrillo, Holly
Forestry
Insect/pathogen/plant interactions in forest ecosystems; forest insect ecology. 715-346-4230
holly.petrillo@uwsp.edu
Perkins, Marie
​Wildlife toxicology, avian conservation, wetland ecology and management. 
715-346-2755
Prater, Jacob
Soil and Waste
Chemical fate and transport, The interaction of soil physical properties and ecosystems, and soil amendments. 715-346-4180 jacob.prater@uwsp.edu
Raabe, Joshua
Water/Fisheries

Fish population dynamics, habitat, and migrations; dam removals and fishways; novel techniques in fisheries research.

715-346-2689
joshua.raabe@uwsp.edu

Rader, Michael
Natural Resources
Natural resources law enforcement, human dimensions of natural resources management, human-wildlife interactions.715-346-2876
michael.rader@uwsp.edu
Riddle, Jason
Wildlife
Avian conservation and ecology, bird management on agricultural lands, detection probability, and avian sampling methods. 715-346-3224
jason.riddle@uwsp.edu
Rosenfield, Robert
Biology
Avian ecology. 715-346-3597
bob.rosenfield@uwsp.edu
Sartini, Cady
Wildlife

Predator ecology and conservation; animal behavior; community ecology; and human dimensions of wildlife management.

715-346-4546
cady.sartini@uwsp.edu

Scharenbroch, Bryant
Soil and Waste

Pedology; Soil and ecosystem responses to natural (e.g., fire, tree windthrow) and anthropogenic (e.g., urbanization, land use, restoration) disturbances; Soil organic matter dynamics; Soil remediation with residuals (e.g., biosolids and biochar); Urban soils.

715-346-3704 bryant.scharenbroch@uwsp.edu

Sedinger, Benjamin

Waterfowl ecology, population dynamics, quantitative ecology, plant-animal interactions, harvest management
715-346-2528
Sloss, Brian
Water/Fisheries
Development of novel genetic systems for use in managing our aquatic resources and examination/delineation of species boundaries. 715-346-3522
brian.sloss@uwsp.edu
Studinski, Jered
Water/Fisheries

Aquatic and riparian invertebrates;the response of aquatic communities and food webs to disturbance; fish diet and growth; odonate ecology; terrestrial invertebrate inputs to streams.

715-346-2832
jered.studinski@uwsp.edu
Thomas, Christine
Natural Resources
Environmental decision-making, citizen participation in environmental decision making, environmental communication. Participation of women in outdoor recreation. 715-346-4617
christine.thomas@uwsp.edu
Timilsina, Nilesh
Forestry
Developing growth and yield models; Application of existing models and statistical tools to determine impact of management activities on forest ecosystem structure and function; Estimating ecosystem services and analyzing drivers that can impact those services  in forested ecosystems; Analyzing spatial distribution and trade-offs among various ecosystem services (for e.g., carbon, timber, biodiversity). 715-346-2446
nilesh.timilsina@uwsp.edu
VanDeHey, Justin
Water/Fisheries
Fisheries ecology and management including linking community and trophic ecology, with population dynamics; fish propagation and conservation genetics. 715-346-2090
justin.vandehey@uwsp.edu
Vokoun, Melinda
Forestry
Economics of forestry, non-industrial landowner behavior, cooperation, property rights, and analysis of existing/potential policy instruments regarding forest management. 715-346-2342
melinda.vokoun@uwsp.edu
Werner, Les
Forestry
Tree and soil interactions; Soil health and quality in urban landscapes; Interaction between cultural practices (i.e. pruning/planting) and tree biology; Urban forest management. 715-346-4189
les.werner@uwsp.edu
Yahnke, Chris
Biology
Community ecology of neotropical small mammals and their associated hantaviruses; conservation genetics; biogeography of South American mammals. 715-346-2455
chris.yahnke@uwsp.edu