Graduate Program Faculty

​Anderson-McIntyre, Laura
Forestry

​Planning and management of outdoor recreation in forests, parks, and protected areas; nature-based tourism.

​715-346-4182
laura.anderson@uwsp.edu

Bell, Robert
Biology
Algal and Plant Physiological and Community Ecology; Ultra structural Phylogeny of the Algae.​ 715-346-2074
robert.bell@uwsp.edu
Caporale, Diane
Biology
Molecular epidemiology and evolution of tick borne pathogens.​ 715-346-3922
diane.caporale@uwsp.edu
Clancy, Katherine
Water/Fisheries
Fluvial geomorphology, prediction and modeling of floods and modeling watershed processes.​ 715-346-3429
katherine.clancy@uwsp.edu
Cook, James
Forestry
Disturbance regimes, regeneration, pollination ecology, succession, community response to disturbance.​ 715-346-2269
james.cook@uwsp.edu
Crimmins, Shawn
Wildlife
​Quantitative methods, predator ecology, population dynamics, furbearer ecology, large-mammal ecology, habitat selection.​715-346-2387
shawn.crimmins@uwsp.edu
Crunkilton, Ronald
Water/Fisheries
Water quality, biomonitoring, bioavailability of contaminants to aquatic organisms, pollution ecology.​ 715-346-4509
ronald.crunkilton@uwsp.edu
Demchik, Michael
Forestry
Biomass, Farm forestry, alt. silvicultural systems, extending pathological rotation, underutilized species for disturbed site re-vegetation.​ 715-346-3214
michael.demchik@uwsp.edu
Doruska, Paul
Forestry
Forest inventory techniques, weight scaling, biomass equations, and proximal sensing of ground flora.​ 715-346-3988
paul.doruska@uwsp.edu
Dubay, Shelli
Wildlife​​
Epizoology of wildlife diseases, nutritional ecology, small mammals.​ 715-346-4178
shelli.dubay@uwsp.edu

Fisher Bill
Water/Fisheries

​Applications of geographic information systems in fisheries, management of recreational fisheries, conservation of rare and declining fishes, and sustainable water resources management.

​715-346-2832
bill.fisher@uwsp.edu
Franzen, Rebecca
Natural Resources
Environmental education, teacher education and environmental education, environmental literacy assessment.
​715-346-4943 becca.franzen@uwsp.edu
​Gharis, Laurie
Natural Resources
​Environmental education, program evaluation, natural resource communications, and partnership development. ​715-346-3528
laurie.gharis@uwsp.edu
Ginnett, Tim
Wildlife​​
Ungulate ecology, foraging behavior and nutrition, population dynamics.​ 715-346-4191
tim.ginnett@uwsp.edu
Haines, Anna
Natural Resources
Collaborative planning, workforce development, Native American/ Indigenous environmental planning.​ 715-346-2386
anna.haines@uwsp.edu
Hartleb, Chris
Biology
Fisheries ecology, aquatic ecology and aquaculture.​ 715-346-3228
chris.hartleb@uwsp.edu
Hauer, Richard
Forestry
Urban forestry at local, state & national levels, urban forest inventory & assessment; tree biology(selection growth & development of trees in urban environments.​ 715-346-3642
richard.hauer@uwsp.edu
Herrman, Kyle
Water/Fisheries
Aquatic biogeochemistry, nutrient transport and removal in streams and wetlands, ecosystem impacts of invasive species, and carbon storage in wetlands.​ 715-346-4832
kyle.herrman@uwsp.edu
Huspeni, Todd
Biology
General and applied parasite ecology.​ 715-346-4250
todd.huspeni@uwsp.edu
Hygnstrom, Scott
Wildlife​​
​Wildlife ecology, wildlife damage management, wildlife diseases, and outdoor skills.​

​715-346-2301
scott.hygnstrom@uwsp.edu

Isermann, Dan
Water/Fisheries
Fisheries management, population dynamics and life history.​ 715-295-8878
dan.isermann@uwsp.edu

​Kar, Shiba
Natural Resources

​Socioeconomic and regulatory incentives for sustainable energy; renewable/alternative energy technologies, options, and land use impacts; climate change and community based adaptation strategies.

​715-346-2359
shiba.kar@uwsp.edu
​Keymer, Daniel
Soil and Waste

​Microbial population structure and plant-microbe interactions.

​715-346-2616
daniel.keymer@uwsp.edu

Kraft, George
Water/Fisheries
Groundwater quality, use and management; contaminant fate; groundwater nonpoint pollution.​ 715-346-2984
george.kraft@uwsp.edu
Lackey, Brenda
Natural Resources
Environmental Interpretation and Communication, program evaluation, visitor studies, human/wildlife conflicts.​ 715-346-2076
brenda.lackey@uwsp.edu
​Larson, Wes
Water/Fisheries
​Conservation genetics, evolution, molecular ecology, fisheries management, computer programming, data analysis​715-346-3150
wes.larson@uwsp.edu
​Liddicoat, Kendra
Natural Resources
​Environmental education, camp management, program evaluation, and inclusion of people with disabilities in outdoor settings. ​715-346-2028 kendra.liddicoat@uwsp.edu
​Lonsinger, Rob
Wildlife
​Carnivore ecology and management, conservation genetics, predator-prey dynamics, imperiled species conservation, desert ecology. 715-346-2755
rob.longsinger@uwsp.edu
​Masters, Ron
Forestry
Ecosystem influences of periodic prescribed fire and thinning level in red pine and mixed pine northern hardwoods. Seasonal live fuel moisture flux in red pine and jack pine crowns. Response of breeding birds, white-tailed deer and elk to landscape level restoration of oak-savanna and pine-bluestem woodlands. Influence of fire frequency on forest succession and development on xeric sites.

​715-346-3500
ron.masters@uwsp.edu

McGinley, Paul
Water/Fisheries
Water Resources.​ 715-346-4501
paul.mcginley@uwsp.edu
Michitsch, Rob
Soil and Waste
Waste re-use, carcass disposal, contaminant transport, zoonotic and prion fate in complex matrices.​ 715-346-4190
robert.michitsch@uwsp.edu
Petrillo, Holly
Forestry
Insect/pathogen/plant interactions in forest ecosystems; forest insect ecology.​ 715-346-4230
holly.petrillo@uwsp.edu
Prater, Jacob
Soil and Waste
Chemical fate and transport, The interaction of soil physical properties and ecosystems, and soil amendments. ​715-346-4180 jacob.prater@uwsp.edu
​Raabe, Joshua
Water/Fisheries

Fish population dynamics, habitat, and migrations; dam removals and fishways; novel techniques in fisheries research.

715-346-2689
joshua.raabe@uwsp.edu

​Rader, Michael
Natural Resources
​Natural resources law enforcement, human dimensions of natural resources management, human-wildlife interactions.​715-346-2876
michael.rader@uwsp.edu
Riddle, Jason
Wildlife​​
Avian conservation and ecology, bird management on agricultural lands, detection probability, and avian sampling methods.​ 715-346-3224
jason.riddle@uwsp.edu
Rosenfield, Robert
Biology
Avian ecology.​ 715-346-3597
bob.rosenfield@uwsp.edu
​Sartini, Cady
Wildlife​​

​Predator ecology and conservation; animal behavior; community ecology; and human dimensions of wildlife management.

​715-346-4546
cady.sartini@uwsp.edu​

​Scharenbroch, Bryant
Soil and Waste

​Pedology; Soil and ecosystem responses to natural (e.g., fire, tree windthrow) and anthropogenic (e.g., urbanization, land use, restoration) disturbances; Soil organic matter dynamics; Soil remediation with residuals (e.g., biosolids and biochar); Urban soils.

​715-346-3704 bryant.scharenbroch@uwsp.edu

Sloss, Brian
Water/Fisheries
Development of novel genetic systems for use in managing our aquatic resources and examination/delineation of species boundaries.​ 715-346-3522
brian.sloss@uwsp.edu
​Straub, Jacob
Wildlife
​Waterfowl Ecology, wetland management, conservation planning, waterbirds, Wood duck nesting ecology, Tree cavity use by wildlife, Masting dynamics in red oaks, hunter satisfaction surveys ​715-346-3323
jacob.straub@uwsp.edu
Thomas, Christine
Natural Resources
Environmental decision-making, citizen participation in environmental decision making, environmental communication. Participation of women in outdoor recreation.​ 715-346-4617
christine.thomas@uwsp.edu
Thompson, Aaron
Natural Resources
Collaborative landscape planning, conservation behavior, spatial typologies of stakeholder attitudes.​ 715-346-2278
aaron.thompson@uwsp.edu
​Timilsina, Nilesh
Forestry
Developing growth and yield models; Application of existing models and statistical tools to determine impact of management activities on forest ecosystem structure and function; Estimating ecosystem services and analyzing drivers that can impact those services  in forested ecosystems; Analyzing spatial distribution and trade-offs among various ecosystem services (for e.g., carbon, timber, biodiversity). ​715-346-2446
nilesh.timilsina@uwsp.edu
​VanDeHey, Justin
Water/Fisheries
Fisheries ecology and management including linking community and trophic ecology, with population dynamics; fish propagation and conservation genetics. ​715-346-2090
justin.vandehey@uwsp.edu
Vokoun, Melinda
Forestry
Economics of forestry, non-industrial landowner behavior, cooperation, property rights, and analysis of existing/potential policy instruments regarding forest management.​ 715-346-2342
melinda.vokoun@uwsp.edu
Werner, Les
Forestry
Tree and soil interactions; Soil health and quality in urban landscapes; Interaction between cultural practices (i.e. pruning/planting) and tree biology; Urban forest management.​ 715-346-4189
les.werner@uwsp.edu
Yahnke, Chris
Biology
Community ecology of neotropical small mammals and their associated hantaviruses; conservation genetics; biogeography of South American mammals. ​ 715-346-2455
chris.yahnke@uwsp.edu