Faculty and Staff

The department offers small classes taught by a dedicated faculty, and a lot of individual attention and advising. Our faculty come from some of the best Political Science PhD programs, and are engaged in ongoing research projects. The faculty have extensive field experience studying, teaching, working, and pursuing research in Europe, Latin America, and Asia.​
Department Chair
CCC 474
Senior Lecturer
North Hall 313 Wausau Campus
Associate Professor
CCC 472
Assistant Professor
CCC 468
Laurie Simonis
Laurie Simonis
Academic Department Associate
CCC 477

Retired and Emeritus Professors

James Canfield
Title: Professor Emeritus

Mark Cates
Professor Cates taught at UWSP from 1963 to 1996. He passed away in Summer 2009.  Mark left a wonderful endowment to the UWSP Political Science Department to fund student scholarships.

Richard Christofferson 
            Title: Professor Emeritus
Email: rchristo@uwsp.edu
Ed Miller
Title: Professor Emeritus
Dennis Riley
Title: Professor Emeritus

Jianwei Wang
Title: Retired
Email: j2wang@uwsp.edu