The Year in Review

2009  |  2008  | 2007  |  2006  |  2005  |  2004  |  2003  |  2002

2007 Physics and Astronomy Awards Dinner

Welcome to the 2007 Awards Dinner Web Page! Below, you will find multiple links to pages that describe the accomplishments of our current and former students as well as our faculty and staff. First though, I note the untimely passing of a recent retiree. Professor Kameshwar Razdan (left) began his teaching career at UWSP in 1967 and mentored countless students in the areas of microprocessor technology and laser physics. Sadly, Kameshwar passed away on 2 March 2007 after a short battle with lymphoma. On a brighter note, I am pleased to introduce the newest faculty member of our department. Professor Chris Verzani (right) specializes in optics and will assume oversight of the UWSP Femtosecond Laser Laboratory. In addition, Dr. Elisha Polomski has accepted a two-year appointment with us as Lecturer in Physics and Astronomy.

- Bob Beeken, Chairman of Physics and Astronomy

2007 Information

 Scholarship Recipients

Freshman Scholarship ($750)
  • Lex Davis (Rio, WI)
  • Joseph Hottenstein (Antigo, WI)
  • Steven Massart (Appleton, WI)
  • Steven Moore (Maplewood, MN)
Monica Bainter Scholarship ($500)
  • Chelsey Driessen
  • Logan Kimberly
  • Dean Pawlisch
Arthur Pesja Award ($1000)
  • Steve Lynam
Monica Bainter Memorial Award ($1500)
  • Matthew Newby
Culver-Rogers Award ($500)
  • Matthew Newby - Awarded to a UWSP student majoring in either biology, chemistry, or physics.
Barbara Lotze Scholarship ($2000)
  • Logan Kimberly - Awarded by the American Association of Physics Teachers to a physics major seeking certification to teach at the secondary level.

 Graduating Seniors

Matt Earleywine - Plans to apply for graduate study after spending 1-2 years in industrial research and development.

Josh Hastey - Is currently working in the computing field.

Derek Lilla - Currently works in construction engineering.

Eric Schultz - Has been accepted for graduate study at Kansas State University.

Stephen Zielke (Dec 2006) - Seeks a position in the industrial sector.

 Department Highlights

New Facilities and Programs
  • Renovation of Room A-104 has provided space for computational physics, computer-based tutorials, and a much-needed study area for physics majors during evening and weekend hours.
  • The first group of physics majors was admitted to our applied physics emphasis approved by Faculty Senate one year ago. The new applied physics emphasis includes coursework in business/economics as well as an internship, arranged either locally or in London.
  • The charter that established the Allen Blocher Memorial Fund has been revised by Jean Blocher-Brandt to provide financial assistance to applied physics students who complete their internship experience at an international site.
Society of Physics Students
  • Owing to popular demand, three model rocket launches for elementary school students were coordinated this year.
  • Members of SPS toured Argonne National Laboratory in May.
  • Aaron Schaufenbuel was honored with the Chancellor's Leadership Award for his work with SPS.
Academy of Letters and Science Awards
  • Eric Schultz - graduating senior.
  • Matt Newby - continuing student.
Student Research
  • Recent graduate Matt Loth co-authored the paper "Synthesis of Isolated Silver Nanoparticles and their Aggregates Manipulated by Light" in Laser Physics Letters with research professor Sasha Popov and former professor Greg Taft.
  • Recent graduate Azaree Lintereur co-authored a paper with professor Bob Beeken entitled "The Effect of Anion Substitution and Non-Stoichiometry on the Fast Ion Conductor Copper Phosphorus Selenide Iodide" appearing in the Journal of Applied Physics.
  • Current student Matt Newby and recent graduate Joel Hrebik co-authored the paper "Ultrafast Dynamic Reflectivity of Vanadium Pentoxide" in the Journal of Materials Research. Former professor Greg Taft and former chancellor Tom George were also co-authors of the article.
  • Chelsey Driessen and Dean Pawlisch recently presented a poster at the Capitol Rotunda in Madison.
  • Aaron Schaufenbuel, Steve Lynam, and Darcy Beyer all presented the results of their undergraduate research at the Letters and Science Symposium.
Physics Education
Professor Ken Menningen was the lead author of the Instructor's Solution Manual accompanying James Walker's algebra-based textbook Physics.
Jeremiah Zblewski accompanied Professor Katie Jore to Kitt Peak National Observatory.
Laser Physics
  • Research Professor Sasha Popov was awarded a $289,000 three-year grant from the Army Research Office to study negative refractive index materials that have nanophotonic applications.
  • Professor Chris Verzani traveled to Pasadena this past winter break to conduct research with colleagues at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory.
Upcoming Professional Travel Plans
  • Professor Hai Nguyen will travel to France this summer to conduct research with colleagues at the University of Paris.
  • Professor Bob Beeken will travel to Shanghai to present research results at the Sixteenth International Conference on Solid State Ionics.
  • Matt Newby will participate in an REU program at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in New York.
  • Jeremiah Zblewski has been accepted to participate in an REU program at the College of Wooster in Ohio.
Special Award
Department Associate Nancy Stokosa was awarded a twenty five year service pin at this spring's University Awards Ceremony. Has it really been that long, Nancy?

Karen Chamberlin works on a proton-induced x-ray emission experiment at theUniversity of Notre Dame, site of her 2007 summer REU program.

​​ ​