Class Standing Distribution Lists

Class Standing distribution lists contain the addresses for all students that have been classified according to whether they have attained Freshmen, Sophomores, Juniors, Senior, Graduates or Special student status.

Who Can Use the Lists

No one can see the membership of the lists to ensure student privacy. You must get pre-approval from the Office of the Registrar before you can send to these lists.

Naming Conventions for Class Standing Lists

A distribution list name consists of the letters "class-" followed by the class standing level (examples provided in the table below).

Example Class Standing  Example Distribution List Name
Freshman class-Freshman
Sophomores class-Sophomores
Juniors class-Juniors
Seniors class-Seniors
Graduates class-Graduates
Specials class-Specials

Send a Message to a Minor Distribution List

If you are using UWSP's Exchange/Outlook client, choose the "Class Standing" Name" from the global address list.

  1. Create a new message
  2. Click the "To:" button and the "Select Names" dialog box will be displayed.
  3. Click the arrow key in the Address Book drop down and select the appropriate class standing address list. Alternatively, you can begin to type the name of the class standing distribution list in the "Search:" box and the system will attempt to find the closest match to what you are typing.

    Outlook Address Book  

  4. In the address display box that appears, select the class standing you want to send a message to.
  5. Press the "To ->" button.

If you do not have access to the UWSP address book from the mail system you are using, address a message following the format shown in the Internet Address column in the table below.

Distribution List Name - Outlook Alias Internet Address
class-Freshman class-Freshman@uwsp.edu
class-Sophomores class-Sophomores@uwsp.edu
class-Juniors class-Juniors@uwsp.edu
class-Seniors class-Seniors@uwsp.edu
class-Graduates class-Graduates@uwsp.edu
class-Specials class-Specials@uwsp.edu

Availability & Accuracy

All distribution lists are automatically available in Microsoft Outlook. The lists are updated nightly throughout the semester from data supplied by the Office of the Registrar.