Interior Architecture: Scholarships

Outstanding IA students are encouraged to apply for the many scholarships awarded annually. Scholarship award winners will be announced in early spring semester. Application materials will be made available to continuing students at the end of fall semester. Freshman scholarships are available through the UW-Stevens Point Foundation. Scholarships may not be awarded every year. 

IA Scholarship Application
Deadline: Feb. 1

Jane Wright Abrahamsen Home Economics Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to outstanding freshman, sophomore, junior or senior students as measured by evidence of leadership and civic activity.

Dora Phelps Scholarship
The scholarship is available to current freshman, sophomore, junior or senior family & consumer sciences, dietetics, or interior architecture students who work as student employees at UWSP, and is awarded based on character, academic achievement, financial need, and concern for others.

Natalie & Paul Ciulla Interior Architecture Scholarship
Natalie Ciulla was an alumna and instructor in the Division of Interior Architecture. Her husband Paul was also dedicated to quality design. Natalie’s mother Antonia Nichiporuk with close family friends, Kar-Keat Chong, Ann Fitz, Kathe Julin and Pam Leviton, established a scholarship in their names to support young designers.

Agnes A. Jones Undergraduate Home Economics Scholarship
Agnes Jones was a high school home economics teacher, a supervisor of home economics student teachers at UW-Madison, and home economics department chair at Northern Illinois University before she was appointed as head of home economics at what was then Wisconsin State College-Stevens Point in 1957. Jones and her faculty were innovative creators of programs and during one five-year period received more than half a million federal dollars. She and Bonnie McDonald were early pioneers in the Wisconsin Head Start program.

Kelly Garr Dawley Memorial Scholarship
Dr. Donna Garr and husband Phil established this scholarship following the death of their daughter and granddaughter. Kelly Garr Dawley was their only daughter; she died in a tragic automobile accident while pursuing a degree at UWSP as a non-traditional student.

Jane Wright Abrahamsen Home Economics Scholarship
This scholarship was created to honor the late Jane Wright Abrahamsen, by her husband Martin. Jane was a native of Mauston who received a degree in home economics in 1928 and a bachelor’s degree in home economics education in 1933, both from the Stevens Point Normal School. She then went on to get her master’s degree from UW-Madison in 1936. She then started her professional career by teaching home economics at high schools in Ithica, WI and Ironwood, MI.

Bernice Kurzynski Scholarship
Bernice Kurzynski retired from UWSP after 37 years, including serving as the academic department associate in the Division of Interior Architecture. As a UWSP alumna, Bernice was always dedicated to her work and service to the university. Her scholarship was established by IA faculty and staff at the time of her retirement to honor her endless contributions and service to the division.

Dora Phelps Scholarship
This fund was established to provide a scholarship to a part-time student employee in interior architecture, family and consumer sciences or dietetics.

Bessie May Allen Scholarship
This scholarship was established by Bessie May Allen, director of the Home Economics Department at UWSP for 39 years. Bessie May shaped the home economics program at UWSP, taking it from a two-year course of study to a four-year program. She was vital in keeping the program alive, bringing it back to campus after the UW System Board of Regents had voted to eliminate it.

Mary Ann Baird Interior Architecture
Mary Ann Baird, head of the Division of Interior Architecture from 1978-96, established this scholarship upon her retirement from UWSP. She taught at UWSP for 38 years and established this scholarship to assist students interested in semester international study programs.

Enterprise Lighting Scholarship
Enterprise Lighting created a scholarship to support interior architecture majors, particularly those who are members of the Illuminating Engineering (IES) Student Chapter.

Patricia C. Kluetz ASID Scholarship
Pat Kluetz, had the unique opportunity to work with talented and creative students who have emerged from our program to become impressive professional interior designers. She continues to be involved in teaching and continuing education programs on campus and has served as a professional liaison to the Division of Interior Architecture ASID Student Chapter.

ASID Student Chapter Scholarship
The funds for this scholarship were generated through a raffle held at the annual UWSP ASID Student Chapter Banquet for students, alumni, and faculty. The scholarship is awarded to students who have made significant contributions to the ASID Student Chapter.

Dr. Barbara Inch Non-Trad Scholarship for Women