Who should complete an Add-On License in Elementary and Middle School K-9?
This newly approved license allows a teacher to teach 4-year old kindergarten through 9th grade. This program is only available for teachers already licensed to teach MC-EA ages 6-13, EC-MC ages 0-11 or grades 1-6, 1-8, K-6 or K-8.
Additional Program Requirements
- For most teachers, this new license may require 3-9 credits of graduate level coursework, offered online, starting summer 2020, depending on coursework completed for initial license.
- Appropriate pre-clinical or K-9 experiences. When submitting an application to this program, make sure to also upload a list of pre-clinical experiences and teaching experiences along with a copy of your current license. Please include all of the following information for every experience:
- school setting (elementary school building, middle school building, junior high, or high school)
- approximate number of hours
- approximate year
Foundations of Reading Test for Wisconsin (FoRT): Required by state law for licensure: Passing score of 240 or higher on the Foundations of Reading Test for Wisconsin. For more information on score requirements, test preparation and registration, please see our
- NOTE: FoRT is not required for those who have a Wisconsin lifetime license at the time they complete and apply for this new K-9 license.
- Content Knowledge Requirement: Demonstrate content knowledge by either 1) obtaining a 3.00 or higher in the teaching major or 2) submit passing scores on the required Praxis Subject Assessment exam: Middle School: Content Knowledge #5146 with a score of 146 or higher. Students must meet one of the content knowledge requirements for teacher licensure. For information on Praxis Exam, please see pages 9-10 in the
School of Education Advising Guide.
How to Apply
Apply to the program and receive a personal certification outline of requirements you will need to meet in order to add this new license. Send all of the following in one email or one packet of materials to:
School of Education
College of Professional Studies
Stevens Point, WI 54481
- Your interest in add-on the new K-9 Elementary and Middle School License.
- Separate copies of unofficial transcripts from EVERY college or tech where you have earned credit
- NOTE: If you earned your elementary education major/license through UW-Stevens Point, you only need to tell Maggie this information and include your UWSP ID# (not SS#). If you do not know your UWSP ID#, please call the Office of the Registrar, 715-346-4301, and they can assist you.
- A copy of your current WI teaching license – You can find this on DPI’s website under
License Look-Up and save as a .pdf.
- NOTE: If you have a license with stipulations, please include the DPI list of stipulations you still need to meet.
- Criminal Background Check: A criminal background check is required to apply to any licensing program in Wisconsin, per DPI code PI34.18(2)
- DIRECTIONS: Request, print and upload a Wisconsin Department of Justice (Wisconsin DOJ) background check when you apply to a program:
https://recordcheck.doj.wi.gov. We will accept a previous check that is no older than 6 months from the date you turn in your application. There is a $7 fee associated with this and this will allow you to see your results on their website. Save it as a .pdf to send to Maggie. The online $7 option is the quickest option.
- A list of pre-clinical experiences and teaching experiences along with a copy of your current license. Please include all of the following information for every experience:
- school setting (early childhood center, elementary school building, middle school building, junior high, or high school)
- approximate number of hours of experience
- approximate year of experience