University Award Winners




​UNIVERSITY AWARDS for Faculty and Instructional Academic Staff

Information regarding the Call for Nominations for University Awards (Faculty Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship, and Service, Excellence in Teaching, University Service, and University Scholar awards) is below. Also below are evaluation rubrics that will be used by the University Awards Subcommittee when considering nomination packets in selection of award recipients. The intent in providing the evaluation rubrics is to provide additional guidance to those preparing nomination packets. Nominees or those compiling nomination packets are asked to consult the rubrics to ensure that submitted nomination packets are complete.  

University Award Nomination Coversheets:

University Award Evaluation Rubrics:


UW-Stevens Point recognizes two academic staff members annually:

  • one academic staff member for their contributions made to the university (Academic Staff Excellence Award) and
  • one academic staff member for demonstrating a commitment to strong community service (Academic Staff Spirit of Community Service Award).

The Academic Staff Excellence Award recognizes an academic staff member (Category A, B, or C) for their contributions made in their unit, department, and/or university. Excellence in performance, personal interaction, initiative and creative, and outstanding achievement are items to consider when making nomination.  The Academic Staff Excellence Award receipient receives an award of $2,500.

The Academic Staff Spirit of Community Service Award stresses the importance of service in building and contributing to a healthier community environment on and off campus. Contributions made in mental, social, physical, emotional, intellectual, vocational, spiritual/philosphical, and/or environmental areas should be considered when making nomination. All academic staff members (Category A, B, or C) are eligible for nomination for the Spirit of Community Service Award.  The Academic Staff Spirit of Community Service Award recipient receives an award of $1,000.

Academic Staff Awards Nomination Form 


Carolyn Rolfson Sargis Award       

The Sargis Award is an annual award given to a university staff member in recognition of notable accomplishments and service throughout their career at UW-Stevens Point. To be eligible for this award, the candidate: must have 20 or more years of UWSP service (which can include LTE and project appointment service, but be currently in permanent status; a listing of eligible university staff is provided below), must be making a positive contribution towards the goals and objectives of their unit and the university, should regularly demonstrate professionalism in working relationships and contacts within and outside the university community, and should show a commitment to personal growth and community service.  The recipient ot the Sargis Award receives a $2,500 award.

Outstanding Work Performance Award

The Outstanding Work Performance award recognizes performance far beyond what is normally expected. Including, but not limited to, taking on additional responsibilities or increased workload, accepting and completing special projects not part of the normal work duties, developing or modifying procedures, or exhibiting behavior that enhances the workplace. The overall result being effectiveness and efficiency of service offered by the work unit or university.  Recipients of the Outstanding Work Performance award receive awards of $1000.  University staff are eligible for the Outstanding Work Performance Award if they were employed with UW-Stevens Point during the entire previous calendar year (January 1-December 31) for at least 700 hours (34% FTE) as university staff and did not receive an award in the previous two years. 

University Staff Service Award        

The University Staff Service award recognizes time and effort voluntarily given to the university community; time and effort not considered part of the normal work assignment. Including, but not limited to, involvement in campus committees, assistance to staff, students, or campus organizations. The result of this involvement is increased positive perception of the university within the community or enhancing the ability of the university to accomplish its mission.  The recipient of the the University Staff Service Award receives an award of $1000.   University staff are eligible for the Service Award if they were employed with UW-Stevens Point during the entire previous calendar year (January 1-December 31) for at least 700 hours (34% FTE) as university staff and did not receive an award in the previous two years. 


The Regents Teaching Excellence Awards have two categories: One is for an individual faculty member in recognition of an outstanding career achievement in teaching. The other is given to an academic department, program, or other academic unit which demonstrates exceptional commitment to and effectiveness in teaching. 

Each campus within the UW System is limited to one individual faculty member nomination and one department nomination to the Regents Award Committee for consideration. Two $7,500 awards are made to individual faculty and staff members within the UW System, and one $7,500 award is made to an academic department, program or other academic unit within the UW System. 

Each college at UWSP is entitled to nominate one  nominee for each category.  

For more information on the nature of the awards and past awardees, please see


The UW-Stevens Point's nominee for the UW System Regents Academic Staff Program Excellence Award is the recipient of the prior year Academic Staff Excellence Award.  Each campus in the UW System may nominate one non-instructional academic staff member and one non-instructional academic staff program, defined as one staffed primarily by non-instructional academic staff members . Each fall, the Academic Staff Awards Subcommittee accepts nominations for the non-instructional academic staff program UW-Stevens Point nominee.  A special Regent committee select two academic staff members and one program from all represented UW campuses as award recipients. Each award recipient will receive a $7,500 cash award for professional development or program improvements, public recognition at a UW Board of Regents meeting, and news releases to state and local media. 



Outstanding faculty and staff members were recognized recently at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point for their work. Read more about award winners here. 

Academic Staff
Academic Staff Excellence Award: Anne Rogalski, Continuing Education and Outreach  
Academic Staff Spirit of Community Service Award: Megan Espe, Schmeeckle Reserve

University Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship and Service Award: Nate Bowling, Chemistry

University Excellence in Teaching Award:
   Myles Boothroyd, Music
   Jess Bowers, Sociology and Social Work
   Cary Elza, Communication 
   Joshua Horn, Philosophy
   Jerry Jessee, History 

University Scholar Award:
   David Barry, Sociology and Social Work
   Krista Slemmons, Biology

University Service Award:
   Mary Bowman, English
   Yan Liao, Libraries
   Anne Swenson, Libraries 

University Staff:
   Sargis AwardPat Kleman, Dean's Office, College of Letters and Science 

Outstanding Work Performance Award:
   Tom Bertram, Human Resources
   Kathy Heck, Purchasing 
   RoxAnne Forrest, Children's Learning Center
   Libby Raymond, Academic Affairs 

​​ ​