View Categories

“Only Once After Each Attempt” Feedback Setting with Classic Quizzes in Respondus LockDown Browser

1 min read

When you enable the Respondus LockDown Browser restriction on a Canvas quiz, by default it will also require students to use the LockDown Browser to view feedback and results.  There is a known issue when using the “Only Once After Each Attempt” option with a “Classic Quiz”.  When this option is selected, students will not be able to view the quiz attempt results unless the following options are configured.

With the below configuration, the students will only be allowed to view the attempt results once – directly after taking the exam.  Since they will already be inside of the LockDown Browser to take the exam, they will also then be able to click the link to view the results. 

If the student closes out of the LockDown Browser and loads up the attempt in a standard browser, they will not be able to view the results since they are only available once immediately after taking the quiz.

  1. In the Respondus LockDown Browser Dashboard, locate the quiz and click on “Settings”.
  2. Click on “Advanced Settings”, uncheck the “Require LockDown Browser to view feedback and results” option. Click “Save + Close”.
Screenshot showing LockDown Browser settings menu with arrows pointing to Advanced Settings, Require LockDown Browser to view post-exam feedback and results, and Save + Close.
  1. Locate the Quiz in Canvas and click on “Edit”.
  2. Check the “Let Students See Their Quiz Responses” and the “Only Once After Each Attempt”.
Screenshot of the Quiz Settings Menu in Canvas LMS with arrows pointing to the checkboxes Let Students See Their Quiz Responses and Let Students See The Correct Answers.
  1. Make sure you save the quiz after adjusting the settings.