Athletic Hall of Fame 2011 inductees

Five individuals and two teams were inducted into the UWSP Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday, Oct. 15.

The 2011 inductees include:

Jaclyn (Schmitt) Czaikowski, ’06, Stevens Point, the captain of the women’s hockey team in 2005, and during her career she was MVP, NCHA Player of the Year and a two-time All American and also led the team in points, goals and assists. She currently holds school records for game-winning goals (27), overall points (127), goals (72) and assists (55). She was part of the NCHA playoff champion teams for three years and NCAA runner-up in 2004 and also played hockey for Team Illinois. She now works as a phlebotomist at Bio-Life. She and her husband, Nick, have two children, Boyd and Ellie.





Jeremias Francioli, ’00, San Diego, Calif., a native of Brazil, won an NCAA title in the 200 backstroke and was undefeated his freshman year. He was in two national winning relay teams and was a 19-time All American. He also represented Brazil in the junior national championship, European Cup and Olympic trials. He earned a master’s degree from Marquette University and is currently vice president of sales for CNL Securities. He has also co-started two small businesses, one in Brazil and another in San Diego, where he now resides.







Ann Ninnemann, ’06, Plover, the head women’s hockey coach at UWSP since 2006, was a team MVP and leader in points, assists and goals during her years on the UWSP women’s hockey team, which she captained for three years. She is first in school history for assists, third for overall points (124) and third in goals (55). She was part of the NCHA playoff champion teams for three years and NCAA runner-up in 2004. As a coach, she was the first to both coach and play in the Women’s NCAA Division III Final Four. In 2007 the team was third in NCAA National Tournament. She will complete a master’s degree at UWSP in December.







Andy Palzkill, ’99, Mineral Point, a four-year football player, holds the UWSP record for the longest interception return for a touchdown and tied the school record for most interceptions in a single season. He earned 1st team WIAC All-Conference Defensive Back, All-Region Defensive Back and three All-American designations. He was a member of the WIAC Conference Championship teams in 1998 and 1999. He has a master’s degree and has worked as a high school counselor and football coach. He has now returned to his hometown and alma mater, Mineral Point High School, as a school counselor and varsity assistant football coach. A “Pointer” in both high school and college, he is also a member of the Mineral Point Pointers Hall of Fame.






Yan White, ’07, Plover, assistant wrestling coach at UWSP for the last seven years, was one of two wrestlers to compete in the national championship match three straight years. He won the title in 2001 and was runner-up the following two years. He was a three-time WIAC champion at 197 pounds and compiled the second-best winning percentage at UWSP with a 103-15 career record. He was UWSP’s Male Athlete of the Year in 2001 in 2003. He will be inducted into the National Wrestling Coaches Association Division III Hall of Fame in March 2012. He and his wife, Tori (Brown) White, ’06, have one son, Trig.







Members of the 1998 and 1999 Swimming Medley Relay (Jeremias Francioli, ’00; John Stevens, ’00; Randy Boelk, ’01; and Dave Willoughby, ’00) won the national championship and broke a national record in 1998 then broke their own record and won again in 1999. They were the first (and only) WIAC team to win a relay at the NCAA championships.







Members of the 2004 Women’s Ice Hockey Team, led by Coach Brian Idalski,’01, are in the only western team to make it to the NCAA National Championship game. After winning the NCHA Conference playoffs over UW-River Falls and UW-Superior (in double overtime), the team advanced to the quarterfinals and faced Gustavus Adolphus College in another double overtime win. In the Final Four, they beat Manhattanville College then lost to Middlebury College in the finals.


Website feedback
©1993-2017 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point