Frequently Asked Questions
Click on one of the topics below for more information.
Where does the Parking Services Revenue go?
The revenue is used to pay all costs of providing parking at the university. In accordance with Wisconsin statutes, parking utilities on University of Wisconsin campuses are considered auxiliary enterprises, and are operated in a manner similar to a non-profit business. The parking program is prohibited from using tuition or tax generated revenue. Operating costs include new construction, maintenance, staff salaries, debt service and other routine expenses. Snow plowing alone can exceed $40,000 per year.
How can I pay my citation & what are the consequences if I don't pay my citation?
Citation payment can be made online with credit or debit card, in the Parking Services Office with cash or check, via the U.S. Mail (postage required) with check, through Campus Mail (no postage needed), or deposited into the PURPLE fine boxes located in some of the parking lotsas follows: Lot F East, Lot F West, Lot R, Lot T and Lot Z. There are also two in the George Stien Building on Maria Drive, one on the outside and one inside next the the Parking Office door. (The yellow/green fine boxes are for citations issued by the Stevens Point Police Department.)
Citations not paid within 21 days of issue date will accrue late fees. A courtesy email/letter is sent out 14 days from citation date and a final notice sent 30 days from issue date indicating non-payment consequences. Non-payment of citation 40 days after issue date results in either an amount transfer to the student bill or an additional fee applied and owner vehicle license registration suspension notice sent to the WI Department of Registration.
How much time do I have to pay my citation?
Pay your citation or appeal within 21 days of issue date. (Fine escalation amount and date is noted on your citation.) Citation amounts will escalate if not paid within 21 days of the issue date. Prompt payment prevents citation amount owing escalation, notification letters being sent to the registered owner and/or registration suspension at the DMV.
Can I contest or appeal my citation?
Citations may be appealed before the due date and after payment. Appeal forms are available from the Parking Services Office; however, your citation payment must be made prior to filing an appeal. (Some citations are not appealable; i.e. Meter, Handicapped stall parking and Fire Zone violations.) The appeal is reviewed by the Appeals Committee; comprised of university faculty, staff, and students. The committee can uphold, reduce, or void the citation.
How can I avoid getting parking citations?
* Purchase and display the appropriate parking permit
* Hang the permit from your inside rear-view mirror while parked in a campus lot
* View the campus map to verify where your permit is valid
* Put enough money in parking meters to cover all the time you may need
* Allow enough time to get to and from your class
* Read and follow instructions on signs
Why are parking citations issued?
Citations issued for "No Valid Permit", "Expired Meter", etc. are a matter of fairness to students, staff and others that have purchased a parking permit or paid meter fees and as an incentive to comply with campus parking regulations. Parking Services is responsible for maintaining safe and orderly conditions for traffic and pedestrian movement on campus. Vehicles cannot be allowed to restrict the movement of normal traffic or emergency vehicles.
I locked my keys in my vehicle or my vehicle broke down in one of the lots, what should I do?
Call Parking Services, 715-346-3900, and relay the problem to prevent receiving a citation. The university cannot assist in unlocking your vehicle for liability reasons but will refer you to a local business to call for help.
Where do I report damage to my car that occurred while parked on campus?
Any damage to your vehicle should be reported to UWSP Protective Services, 715-346-3456. The university assumes no responsibility for the damage.
If you notice a physical hazard in a parking lot that may pose a problem (i.e. glass or damaged meters), please contact Parking Services at 715-346-3900.
How much are the meters and what is the maximum parking time?
University meters are $0.75 per hour ($0.25 for 20 minutes). 12-hour maximum meters are located in Lot R, Lot T and Lot Y; 4-hour maximum meters in Lots F-East, F-West, G, V and Z.
I parked at a meter that was malfunctioning (i.e. did not accept coins, screen blank, FAIL, etc.) what can I do?
You can continue to park at the meter, but you MUST call Parking Services, 715-346-3900 and report the meter number, problem, and your license plate number to prevent a citation from being issued. An officer will be sent out to fix meter.
Are metered areas enforced 24-7?
Meters are enforced Monday-Friday 6am-7pm. Meters are open Monday-Friday 7pm-2am and on weekends. Parking is prohibited in metered areas every night, 2am-6am - no overnight parking allowed. (Notes on vehicles at meters are not honored in lieu of a permit.) Parking in disabled stalls, fire zones, UW vehicle stalls, specifically reserved stalls, loading zones, and no parking areas (including the grass and sidewalks) is restricted 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Do I need a vehicle on campus?
The University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point campus is known as the "wellness campus"; walking, biking, etc. is encouraged and many students are able to manage without bringing a vehicle to campus.
Are parking permits required to park a vehicle on campus?
Parking on the UWSP campus is by permit only, except in metered areas with correct payment. Permits are sold on a first-come, first-served basis and cost $200.00 this academic year (2018-2019). Enrolled students with a campus logon may purchase a parking permit online with a credit or debit card. Cash and/or checks are accepted in the Parking Services office.
What if I bring a different car to campus?
Your parking permit is a hangtag that can be moved to another vehicle.
Are there rules & regulations I need to follow?
Parking rules and regulations exist to maximize campus parking facilities, to help avoid congestion and to maintain safe driving conditions.
Are daily or weekly parking permits available?
Parking Services sells $5.00 daily and $20.00 weekly permits when space is available. Note: effective September 1, 2018 the fees will be $6.00 daily and $24.00 weekly.
What if I have a guest visitor on the weekend?
The student parking lots are open on the weekends. Your guest can park in Lot Q starting at 7pm Friday through 6am Monday for
free. If I do not plug the meter will I receive a citation?
Meter parking is conveniently located throughout campus to accommodate close proximity parking needs. The hourly rate of $.75 is a better value than a $10.00 citation issued to drivers of vehicles parked at expired meters. NOTE
: a vehicle can be ticketed every two hours at an expired meter
. Can I park on the Stevens Point city streets?
Overnight parking is not allowed on the Stevens Point city streets. Collapse New Students
I have classes later in the evening, do I have to pay the full permit price?
Parking Services offers an "L-after 2pm" permit to accomodate students with evening classes. The L-after 2pm permit costs less and allows the student to park in any permit lot (except F, H and Z) after 2pm. The L-permit does not allow you to park at meters, in disabled stalls, fire zones, or no-parking-areas. L-permit is valid ONLY after 2pm. (Utilizing street parking and Lots that open up at 5pm are good alternatives to purchasing a permit.)
I have classes later in the evening and don't want a permit, what can I do?
Most permit lots are restricted to permit holders until 7pm, Monday-Friday. Lots A, E and R open up at 5pm. Meters are enforced until 7pm.
Where is the Parking Services Office located?
UWSP Parking Services
124 George Stien Building
1925 Maria Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54481
(north of the smoke stack) When is the Parking Services office open?
Monday-Friday 7:45am-4:00pm (closed holidays)How can I contact someone from Parking Services after hours?
After hours messages can be left at 715-346-2188
or via email: Parking.Services.Office@UWSP.edu
and we will respond as soon as possible.
I have several different vehicles, do I have to purchase separate permits for each one?
You can transfer your HANGTAG to an alternate vehicle that is registered to you or your family. (Your parking hangtag is not transferrable and you are liable for any citations or violations issued to vehicles displaying your permit.)
My assigned parking lot is full, what should I do?
If your assigned lot is full, you can park in another permit lot (faculty-staff in faculty-staff lots & students in student lots) with license plate notification to Parking Services office to prevent a citation from being issued. EXCEPTION: Lot T and V staff permit holders can park in metered section of Lot T and V with license plate call-in notification. NOTE: Your parking permit serves as permission to park & does not guarantee a parking spot. Lots are first-come, first-served.
When can I apply for parking?
The purchase process for student parking permits for the following academic year starts in early May for enrolled students. (Watch MOD for exact date.) Student permits are sold on a first-come, first-served basis. New students will attend Orientation in the summer; after registering for courses and receiving log in credentials you can purchase a parking permit if space is available. When lots are full, a waiting list is created and assignments made from this list as space becomes available.
Faculty/staff Waitlist signup starts in May and ends Aug. 1st. Lot assignments are made on all Waitlist requests received by Aug. 1st and based on seniority-of-service at UWSP. After lot assignments are processed in early Aug. you will be notified of your lot assignment and can choose to purchase a permit for that lot. Your reservation will be passed on to the next senior person on the list if you decide not to purchase a permit.
I'm enrolled at UWSP for fall semester only, do I have to pay the full permit price?
Academic year permits are available for fall semester, and may be returned at the end of fall term for a 40% refund of purchase price processed to the same method of payment to purchase permit. NOTE: Payroll deduction method of payment for permit can not be refunded.
I received a permit but no longer need it, what can I do?
The unused permit can be returned to the Parking Services Offices before the start of classes for a full refund. Permits can also be returned for a partial refund after the start of courses. Students not attending UWSP the second semester can return their yearly permit prior to the start of the second semester and receive a 40% refund. Resale or transfer of your permit is prohibited. (Permit purchaser is responsible for any citations/issues associated with permit.)
Can I park in permit areas at night or on the weekend?
Permit areas are restricted to permit holders from 2am-7pm, Monday-Friday, except lot H, which is restricted 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Permit areas are open from 7pm-2am Monday-Friday and on weekends.
Do I need to purchase a permit for my moped or motorcyle?
Mopeds can park by the bike racks on campus without contacting Parking Services. Mopeds need to have a moped license plate.
Motorcycles with a motorcycle plate are required to have a UWSP motorcycle permit to park in the student or faculty designated motocycle stalls on campus. Student motorcycle stalls are located in Lots P, Q, T and W. Faculty motorcycle stalls are available in Lots A, D, E, H, R, T and V. Motorcycle stalls are open Apr 1st until Nov. 1st. NOTE: only one vehicle, including motorcycles, may be parked on campus at a time.
If I don't have a permit, can I park on the street?
Parking rules on the city streets are enforced by the Stevens Point Police Department and all questions can be directed to that agency 715-346-1500. Signs on the streets state the regulations for each area and differ by location. No parking on city streets allowed from 2am-6am - no overnight parking. Citations issued by the Stevens Point Police Department can be resolved at 1515 Strongs Avenue, Stevens Point, WI 54481.
If I have a valid state handicap tag, do I need to purchase a permit?
Faculty, staff and students with a disabled permit from the DOT may purchase a university accessible parking permit which allows parking in designated "Accessible Permit Required" RESERVED stalls, in campus meter stalls without payment, and in permit stalls when the accessible permit reserved stalls are full.
Visitors with a disabled placard or license plate from the DOT may park in the accessible parking stalls in visitor parking lots; Lot F-east, F-west, R and Z, and at any parking meter WITHOUT plugging the meter. Disabled tags and plates are not honored in permit areas without a valid UWSP accessible parking permit.
Where can I park when I first arrive on campus?
Lot Q will be open the first five days of classes each semester as a service to residence hall students with moving in tasks. Vehicles do not need to have a permit in Lot Q for the first 5 days of fall and spring terms. Effective with Fall term 2018, this is no longer an option. Students who do not have a permit will need to purchase a day pass for $6.00 or weekly pass for $24.00 if they want to park in Lot Q.
Where can I park when classes/exams are not in session?
All UWSP parking lots are enforced year round and regulations are in effect when classes and exams are scheduled (check academic timetable for course & exam information). The break parking exceptions are:
Student lots J, P, Q and W are OPEN during breaks
Faculty/staff lots D, E and R are OPEN to vehicles displaying a faculty/staff hangtag, without a license call in
Faculty/staff lots A, F, H, K, S, and Z are always retricted to those permit holders
Meter lots are enforced according to posted regulations at all time
All faculty/staff permit lots are restricted to valid permit holders beginning seven (7) days prior to the start of classes for the fall semester. Student permits must be displayed by the first day of classes.
I'm retired - now what?
CONGRATULATIONS - and good luck on your next endeavor! Retired permits will be issued annually to individuals meeting the following criteria:
Retiree is eligible to receive WI Retirement System annuity payments for years of service
Retiree is at least 55 years of age
Retiree completed 10 years of service at UWSP
Retiree retired/separated from UWSP in good standing
Retiree is not currently employed by UWSP
The annual RETIRED parking permit process will be similar to the non-retired process; WAITLIST sign-up and pick-up permit in the Parking Services office at your convenience after August 1st each year. Retired staff on the WAITLIST will have their work status verified by HR prior to being awarded a RETIRED permit. The RETIRED hangtag permit is an annual permit intended for "occasional" visits to campus, however, is not meant for LIFE class attendance and/or student/work use. The RETIRED hangtag is valid in all university permit lots except A, F, G, H, D, Z, meters, fire zones, handicap stalls, reserved stalls, and/or limited zones.
Retired faculty/staff returning in "work status" may choose to participate in the annual priority parking assignment process and purchase a permit to park in a campus lot.