Point Track Takes Seventh, Eighth
Andy Hesse


Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athetic Conference Outdoor Championships Saturday afternoon.  Photo by Mark Kinslow.
The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference held the 2012 WIAC Outdoor Track & Field Championships in Whitewater on Friday and Saturday. The University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point women took seventh place while the men took eighth out of nine teams present.
Senior Kelly Haen won the 5000- meter run posting a time of 17:47.04. Haen’s teammate, freshman Julia Colling finished third in the same event with a time of 17:57.75.
Junior Erin Kline won the 100- meter hurdles with a finals time of 14.39. She also snatched a fifth place finish in the 400-meter hurdles with a time of 1:05.73.
Other notable finishers at the championships were sophomore Leanna Rose, senior Amy Krzykowski, and the 4x800 relay team consisting of freshman Nicole Hanson, freshman Kelsey Laska, freshman Kristen Mathes, and Haen.
Rose took a fourth place in the pole vault with a vault of 3.54 meters. Krzykowski placed fourth in the hammer throw with a distance of 51.48 meters. The 4x800 meter relay team seized a fourth place finish with a time of 9:24.95.
Sophomore Dan Sullivan won two conference titles to lead the team. Sullivan retained a first place finish in the 800-meter run posting a time of 1:53.79. He then took the 1500-meter run with a time of 3:52.80.
Other notable finishers for the men were sophomore Zach Mixdorf, senior Sean Hasentein, and junior Brian Thill. Mixdorf took fifth in the high jump with a height of 1.95-meters. Hasentein finished the 5000-meter run in fourth with a time of 14:48.59. Thill scored 6416 points in the decathalon, good enough for a third place finish.
The 4x800-meter relay team, consisting of sophomore Scott Berry, freshman Ryan Wierzba, junior Alex Steiner, and senior Nick Duchow, placed third with a time of 7:50.02.
Kline broke the WIAC championship record for 100-meter hurdles the previous day with a preliminary time of 14.33. Kline broke Eau Claire’s Jennifer Stafslein record previously set in 2005 who posted a time of 14.38.
Haen was nominated for the WIAC Scholar-Athlete Award Program. The program requires a minimum GPA of 3.25, in the last year of competition, a minimum of two years in competition, and graduating following the season.
Along with being nominated for the Scholar-Athlete Award, Haen was the 2012 Athlete of the Week for the week of April 10. Senior Evan Hutchinson and senior Chelsea Czarnecki were awarded the WIAC Sportsmanship Award which is voted on by all of the coaches in the WIAC.
During the next two weeks the Pointers will be competing in a series of last-chance meets in attempt to qualify for nationals. Nationals will be held at Claremont Mudd-Scripts University in California from May 26-28.