Sign In
Open Site Menu

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate of the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point is the representative body of the faculty.  For purposes of institutional governance, faculty is defined as the chancellor, and persons holding at least 50% FTE faculty or academic staff appointments.   All members of the university may attend and speak at meetings of the Faculty Senate (subject to rules as the Faculty Senate may adopt), but only members of the Faculty Senate may offer motions, second motions, or vote.   The Faculty Senate meets the first and third Wednesdays of the month, during the academic year, at 3 p.m. in Room 116 CPS.
The officers of the Faculty Senate and the chairs of the standing committees of the Faculty Senate constitute the Executive Committee.  The Executive Committee meets on a regular basis to coordinate the activites of the Faculty Senate and to ensure that appropriate consideration is given to matters for consideration and potential action by the Faculty Senate.  The Executive Committee meets the second and fourth Wednesdays of the month, during the academic year, at 3 p.m. in Room 211 DUC.  The Executive Committee also serves as an advisory council to the chancellor at the chancellor's request.
Nomination and election of members of the Faculty Senate, standing committee chairs, and standing committee members is conducted under the supervision of the Nominations and Elections Subcommittee, according to the rules prescribed by the Constitution of the Faculty Senate and such additional rules as the subcommittee may establish.  The annual faculty governance election takes place in April.  New senators, standing committee chairs, committee and subcommittee members take office at the beginning of the following fall semester. 

2014-2015 Faculty Senate and Executive Committee meeting schedule

Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate include:

Standing committees whose chairs are elected and whose members are appointed:

  • Academic Affairs Committee
  • Curriculum Committee
  • University Affairs Committee

Standing committees whose members are elected and whose chairs are elected by the members:

  • General Education Committee
  • Information Technology Council
  • University Personnel Development Committee

Standing committees whose members and/or chair are elected by a specific group of faculty:

  • Academic Staff Council
  • Faculty Affairs Committee
  • Graduate Council
2014-2015 Faculty governance compiled committee and subcommittee meeting schedules