Sign In
Open Site Menu

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Council has the authority to recommend to the Common Council policies pertaining to the faculty affairs of unclassified personnel with a faculty appointment and to determine such policies subject to review by the Senate. The concerns of the academic staff who teach courses shall be referred to the Academic Staff Council.
The council recommends policies pertaining to unclassified personnel with faculty appointments on matters such as recruitment, appointment, retention, promotion, tenure, and salary.
The council recommends policies pertaining to the governance of departments, schools, colleges, the university, and the University of Wisconsin System. 
Common Council faculty councilors diversification rules can be changed by Faculty Council, pending approval by the faculty members of Common Council.
2014-2015 Faculty Affairs Committee membership and meeting schedule
Subcommittees include:
The Faculty Mediation Subcommittee appoints hearing committees to conduct hearings in any of the following: non-renewal of probationary faculty appointments; denial of tenure; dismissal of faculty; layoff of faculty for financial emergency; complaints of/against faculty; grievances of/against faculty; failure to reappointment fixed term classroom teaching academic staff; dismissal of classroom teaching academic staff; complaints of/against classroom teaching academic staff; and grievances of/against classroom teaching academic staff.  
2014-2015 Faculty Mediation Subcommittee membership
The Faculty Salary Subcommittee has the authority to review all policies for the distribution of salary to the faculty including for those who hold administrative appointments, makes recommendations on such to the Faculty Council, and proposes revisions or new plans for distribution of salary to the Faculty Council. 
2014-2015 Faculty Salary Subcommittee membership
The Sabbatical Review Subcommittee has the responsibility of ranking sabbatical proposals on a competitive basis and submitting the ranked list to the provost.  The subcommittee consists of eight tenured faculty elected by the faculty and the Director of the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs as a non-voting ex officio member.
2014-2015 Sabbatical Review Subcommittee
The University Awards Subcommittee has the authority, according to rules prescribed by the University Handbook, to select faculty recipients of University Awards and the UW-Stevens Poit nominees for the Regents Teaching Excellence Awards (one faculty or teaching academic staff and one academic department/program). 
2014-2015 University Awards Subcommittee membership