UWSP Internship Information

This information is compiled by the Career Services Office and updated annually from the current UWSP Catalog and contacts with individual academic departments. In addition to these programs, there are numerous others for which practicum or field work/experience is an integral component of the student's preparation.

You will find coursework descriptions for each academic program at this link: http://www.uwsp.edu/AcadAff/Pages/resources/CatalogBookmarks.aspx.

 

 American Studies

 

Department website: n/a (interdisciplinary major)

Course #: American Studies 397 (Internship in American Studies)
Contact: Todd Good, Coordinator; tgood@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-295-8900

 

 Art & Design

 

Department website: http://www.uwsp.edu/art-design/

Course #: ART 417 (Internship in International Programs)
Contact: Mr. Rob Stolzer; rstolzer@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-2669

Course #: Art 418 (Gallery Internship)
Contact: Ms. Caren Heft; cheft@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-4797

Course #: Art 419 (Design Internship)
Contact: Mr. Mark Pohlkamp; mpohlkam@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-2654

Course #: Art 420 (Studio Art Internship)
Contact: Mr. Rob Stolzer; rstolzer@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-2669

 

 Arts Management

 

Internship website: http://www.uwsp.edu/comm/Pages/artmInternship.aspx

Course #: Arts Management 280/380 (Arts Management Internship
Arts Management 480 (Capstone: Externship in Arts Management)
Arts Management 485 (Capstone: Externship in Arts Management-London)
Contact: Dr. Jim Haney; jhaney@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-4381

 

 Biology

 

Department website: http://www.uwsp.edu/biology/

Course #: Biology 499 (Internship in Ethnobotony)
Contact: Dr. Chris Yahnke; cyahnke@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-2159

 

 Business/Accouting/Economics

 

Internship website: http://www.uwsp.edu/busecon/Pages/Resources/learninternship.aspx

Course #: Accounting 497 (Internship in Accounting)
Business/Economics 493 (Internship in China)
Business 496/497 (Internship in Business Admin)
Economics 497 (Internship in Economics)
Accounting/Business/Economics 498 (International Internships)
Contact: Ms. Barbara Mihm; bmihm@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-3775

 

 Communication

 

Internship website: http://www.uwsp.edu/comm/Pages/internship.aspx

Course #: Communication 480 (Communication Internship)
Communication 485 (Externship in Communication-foreign placement)
Contact: Dr. Jim Haney; jhaney@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-4381

 

 Computer Information Systems

 

Program website: http://www.uwsp.edu/cnmt/Pages/cis-major.aspx

Course #: Computer Information Systems 397 (Internship in Computing)
Contact: Dr. Robert Dollinger, rdolling@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-4310

 

 Education

 

Department website: http://www.uwsp.edu/education/

Course #: Education 498 (Intern Teaching)
Contact: Ms. Patricia Marinac; pmarinac@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-2440

 

 English

 

Writing internship website: http://www.uwsp.edu/english/pages/studentResources/internship.aspx

Course #: English 498 (Writing Internship)
Contact: Dr. Mark Balhorn; mbalhorn@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-4335

 

 Geography/Geology

 

Department website: http://www.uwsp.edu/geo/

Course #: Geography 480 (Internship in Geography)
Geology 480 (Internship in Geology)
Geography 485 (Practicum in Geography)
Geology 485 (Practicum in Geology)
Contacts: Dr. Keith Rice; krice@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-4454
OR
Dr. Neil Heywood; nheywood@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-4452

 

 Health Information Management & Technology

 

Program website: http://www.himt.wisconsin.edu/

Course #: Health Information Management & Technology 490 (Capstone Project/Internship)
Contact: Dr. Daniel McCarty; dmccarty@uwsp.edu; Phone: 715-346-5177

 

 Health Promotion/Wellness

 

Department website: http://www.uwsp.edu/hphd/

Course #: Health Promotion/Wellness 450 (Internship in Health Promotion/Wellness)
Contact: Dr. Tom Wetter; twetter@uwsp.edu; Phone: 715-346-3659

 

 History

 

Internship website: http://www.uwsp.edu/history/pages/students/internships.aspx

Course #: History 480 (Museum Internship)
Contact: Dr. Lee Willis; lwillis@uwsp.edu; Phone: 715-346-2334

 

 International Studies

 

Program website: http://www.uwsp.edu/history/pages/programs/intl_major.aspx

Course #: International Studies 395 (Internship)
Contact: Dr. Brian Hale; bhale@uwsp.edu; Phone: 715-346-2903

 

 Mathematics

 

Department website: http://www.uwsp.edu/mathsci/

Course #: Mathematics 397 (Internship in Mathematics)
Contact: Dr. Cynthia McCabe; cmccabe@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-2120

 

 Natural Resources

 

Internship website: http://www4.uwsp.edu/cnr/internships/
CNR website: http://www.uwsp.edu/cnr/
CNR Director of Internships is Dr. Paul Doruska; pdoruska@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-3988

Coordinators of intern programs in the individual disciplines are listed below

Course #: Forestry 381/581 (Internship in Forestry)
Contact: Dr. James Cook; jcook@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-2269
OR
Dr. Melinda Vokoun; mvokoun@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-5161


Course #: Natural Resources 381/581 (Internship in Natural Resources)
Contact: Dr. Anna Haines; ahaines@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-2386 (land use planning)
Dr. Robert Holsman; rholsman@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-4546 (law enforcement)


Course #: Paper Science & Engineering 300 (Mill Internship)
Contact: Dr. Karyn Biasca; kbiasca@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-3962


Course #: Soil 381/581 (Internship in Soils)
Contact: Dr. Jacob Prater; jprater@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-4180


Course #: Waste Management 381/581 (Internship in Waste Resources)
Contact: Dr. Rob Michitsch; rmichits@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-4190


Course #: Water 381/581 (Internship in Water)
Contact: Dr. Ronald Crunkilton; rcrunkil@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-4509


Course #: Wildlife 381/581 (Internship in Wildlife)
Contact: Dr. Tim Ginnett; tginnett@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-4191

 

 Peace Studies

 

Program website: www.uwsp.edu/history/pages/programs/peace_minor.aspx

Course #: Peace Studies 390 (Internship/Practicum)
Contact: Dr. Brian Hale; bhale@uwsp.edu; Phone: 715-346-2903

 

 Physics

 

Department website: http://www.uwsp.edu/physastr/

Course #: Physics 390 (Cooperative Internship in Applied Physics)
Physics 490 (Internship in Applied Physics)
Contact: Dr. Chris Verzani; cverzani@uwsp.edu; Phone: 715-346-4764

 

 Political Science/Public Administration & Policy Analysis

 

Department website: http://www.uwsp.edu/polisci/

Course #: Political Science 455 (Internship in Government)
Contact: Dr. Edward Miller; emiller@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-3130/2688

(Most internships are with local agencies, but there are state and national internships as well. Affiliation with the Washington Center in Washington, D. C. for some national internships.)

 

 Psychology

 

Department website: http://www.uwsp.edu/psych/

Course #: Psychology 494 (Human Services Internship)
Contact: Dr. Jeana Magyar-Moe; jmagyarm@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-3958

 

 Theatre and Dance

 

Department website: http://www.uwsp.edu/theatre-dance/

Course #: Dance 428 (Dance Internship)
Contact: Ms. Joan Karlen; jkarlen@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-3982

Course #: Theatre 492 (Theatre Internship)
Contact: Mr. Gary Olsen; golsen@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-4429

 

 Web and Digital Media Development

 

Program website: http://www.uwsp.edu/cnmt/Pages/wdmd-major.aspx

Course #: WDMD 397 (Internship in Web and Digital Media Development)
Contact: Dr. Tim Krause; tkrause@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-3851

 

 International Internships

 

Office website: http://www.uwsp.edu/studyabroad/
Contact: UWSP International Programs, intlprog@uwsp.edu; Phone 715-346-2717

Internship websites